Portraits of Hürrem


This picture is of Hürrem, also known as Roxelana in the West. The name Roxelana was a nick-name, given to her as she was a slave from the Ukraine. The picture was done by an unknown artist in the 16th century.

This is a print by an unknown artist but published by Mathio Pagani in 1550. Hürrem became Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent’s favourite, bearing him five sons. They even broke tradition where she became is legal wife, after he freed her. Their love has become legendary, with some of their poetry to each other still available-

“Throne of my lonely niche, my wealth, my love, my moonlight.
My most sincere friend, my confidant, my very existence, my Sultan
The most beautiful among the beautiful…
My springtime, my merry faced love, my daytime, my sweetheart, laughing leaf…
My plants, my sweet, my rose, the one only who does not distress me in this world…
My Istanbul, my Caraman, the earth of my Anatolia
My Badakhshanmy Baghdad, my Khorasan
My woman of the beautiful hair, my love of the slanted brow, my love of eyes full of mischief…
I’ll sing your praises always
I, lover of the tormented heart, Muhibbi of the eyes full of tears, I am happy.”


Roxelana was considered part of the Sultanate of Women.

Leave a Reply

