Guild meeting

Hello everyone! I can see that there are a few visits happening and everyone is welcome to subscribe.

I am organising a Guild meeting for the 12th of March 2011, at my house. If you are not a local (there are a few subscribers who live on another continent!), then if you are in the vicinity of Melbourne, Australia, you would be welcome to come along. However, if you are a local and need the details of the address, please email me on miriam.staples@gmail.com.

I would like to organise an event for this year, as well as talk about the Royal visit for Stormhold’s Winter Feast. The Guild will have been running for over a year by then. While we have an excellent patroness in our gracious Baroness, I would like to help those around by going country-wide (I know there are some in SA and WA who would like to set up a Guild too) and we may need Royal patronage for that. So a need for talk!

On another topic all together, I had made some Fatimid garb (or my idea of Fatimid garb) for 12th Night in Politarcopolis, 15/01/2011. Some pictures-

I made it out of cotton damask, which is embroidered with chrysanthemums (if you look closely). The neckline is embroidered with silk, from a pattern found off a Fatimid towel in the Ashmolean. The arms have two distinct tiraz bands.

 

This one says “good fortune” in Arabic. It is repeated all the way around, which means nine times!

This one is repeated five times around the arm. It says in Arabic- “patience is blessed with success and everything is rewarded”. I found these charts hidden away in the Yahoo Group of Middle Eastern Personas. Really good source of information but you must have a Yahoo account.

If you are interested in seeing a picture of me at 12th Night, here is link to photo on Facebook- http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=logo#!/photo.php?fbid=492473057367&set=t.1028401897. Let me know if you can’t see it.

Leave a Reply

